Our Community


Murray County, Georgia was carved out of Cherokee County in 1832. Today, Murray County is led by a sole commissioner who holds all the legislative and executive powers (and responsibilities) in the county and who oversees a county staff of employees charged with providing services to the citizens of Murray County.

The City of Chatsworth is the county seat. Chatsworth, along with the City of Eton, provide municipal services to citizens who live within the city limits.

Other communities in Murray County include Cisco, Tennga, Crandall, Spring Place, Ramhurst, Carters, Ball Ground, Floodtown, Sumac and Fashion. These communities are unincorporated and their residents receive all government services from Murray County.

Murray County Government

121 N. Fourth Avenue
P.O. Box 1129
Chatsworth, Georgia 30705
(706) 517-1400

  • Sole Commissioner: Greg Hogan
  • County Manager/Financial Officer: Tommy Parker
  • Clerk of Court: Donna Flood
  • Human Resources: Christy Capehart